Let’s Finally Talk About Gun Control?

Dear Readers,

I don’t want to get debatable about the subject of gun control, but there’s no question we need regulations. After the deaths of 59 people and the injury of more than 500 at a Jason Aldean concert celebrating the harvest in Las Vegas, Nevada, we need to stop and think, what is missing? Regular rules on guns should be a priority, but Congress is backed by lobbyists of the NRA, and I know the NRA should be considered dangerous. Why? Because they enabled a white terrorist, a sickly man, to commit a crime more than once. We will not see a guy like Steve Paddock, but we will see more Omar Matins, and thousands of other sick terror stricken persons around the world. I thought Mr. Paddock was a weirdo, how many guns can you go through in a single day? 10? And there was practically an armory in his property in Northern Nevada. Omar, the guy who shot up the Pulse Nightclub, however, was doing it because of a hateful Terrorist inspired motive: because the club was for gay people. I heard a story of one woman’s survival of that shooting on Saturday.

Unfortunately, for the Las Vegas shooter, there is no motive as of yet. But I’m sure there could be a motive such as gambling debts, or maybe he targeted Jason Aldean. I don’t know for sure, and neither does LVPD. Las Vegas sheriff Joe Lombardo is doing a fine job of trying to piece this together, but seriously, I am curious to know what the government will do next.

Because of the craziness in this world, I propose that new gun legislation be in place. For one, ownership of a gun should be licensed. Just as law enforcement should be careful who they shoot, so should a licensed gun owner. All gun owners should undergo a background check, and should only own one gun per household per person. Or just one gun per person. We should incorporate biometric security into gun cases, things like fingerprint sensors or a gun lock like what I have. I personally do not own a firearm, but I signed a pledge. The pledge said I would be safe around guns, and I got a free lock for that. What a way to show that I love America! I own a free gun lock.

As for myself owning a gun, I would only own a firearm if it was necessary, I took a gun safety course, and if I followed background and licensing checks. Blind women should be given license to own guns, of course. I don’t want to be completely vulnerable to people who own guns, especially rapists who get said weapons on the black market. Therefore, if I lived in a bad neighborhood, I would have to own a shotgun I’d pull off the wall, then I’d aim the muzzle of said rifle at the target suspect. Sure, a gun range would be a harder thing to do for me, but there are blind gun owners in the world. I also want to make sure I’m skilled at defending myself, using hand to hand techniques. There’s the Universal Reference Point, something I learned in the Hadley self-defense course which I don’t know if it’s deactivated or not. However, Safe Without Sight, a book written for the course and a very good one too, recommends use of the Universal Reference Point when dealing with weapons and targets. OF course, there’s the old kick in the groin thing, but what if a man with a gun walks uninvited into my house and wants money, a child, or me or Trenton by God? That’s where I think not letting him make the first move would be a good idea, but what about being able to track his movements without sight? Awareness is what bothers me, but then the same book says to listen to your guts.

For more information about the Safe Without Sight book, do go to http://www.nbp.org and look at their bookstore. There are also great publications in said bookstore about tech, sex, and other great subject matter for adults. Quotes and songbooklets are also available. Some publications are free, others are not.

But what are we doing to prevent even the small scale shootings? Nothing. Mass shootings can be prevented but no one wants to talk about it. As a blind woman, I do not want to be in a situation where I’m pouring with blood because some narcissist snuck up on me and shot me with a gun. THerefore, mental health history checks should be done to check for potential violence. In said forms, color or race should never be asked of the licensed gun owner, not unless you’re just collecting data and doing a poll. For instance, 54% of blacks own a gun, just as an example. However, persons with disabilities should be taught to use and not abuse weapons, and that can be done. Marksmanship for blind persons should be done, especially at NFB or ACB training outlets, places where independence is taught. The trick is to get the staff on board with that because of an incident in Michigan involving a director who was fired for the marksmanship classes.

Further background checks should also be done to ensure that the gun is not being sold to a criminal. Don’t give Donald Trump a weapon. He has a tendency to divide rather than unify people, but his speech following the Las Vegas massacre might have been unifying and avoided politics, but he could soon say that someone will shoot nobody at a black lives matter event, or make such comments as that. Black lives matter cannot be sued, so what’s his problem?

I would not sell weapons to known sex offenders either because they could use their guns as props for sexual crimes or violent acts against women or children. Don’t sell guns to people with known issues like schizophrenia that could trigger violent acts. IF the symptoms don’t include violence except induced by medication, then a gun should be sold to a person so long as they don’t take certain medications that could induce violence. Doctors already ask me if I own a gun, and I always say no, but what if I did own a gun? As a blind woman, I feel that sighted thieves and robbers and/or rapists could see me as vulnerable, but if a key to their eyes doesn’t teach them to knock it off, what will? I also want the right to bring a gun with me to the mall, like Weird Al suspects Canadians do at all. If I had a gun worn on a belt at all times, unloaded, safety on, all that stuff, I could walk safely around the mall without problems, and maybe could prevent another mass shooting. I never know what could befall a group of folks at the mall. There were terrorists in Nairobi who shot up a mall and demanded that nonmuslims die, which I wouldn’t ever allow. I would need a conceal carry license for a tiny pistol, and imagine what good that would do. If a guy asked me if I was Muslim, I would say, is it any of your business? He may spare me if I say yes, but if I admit the truth, and he tried to shoot me, what could I do? I’d have to shoot him before he shoots my friends and family. This also applies if a guy or gal was harming my children or pets or spouse. Guns are an extremely important part of our culture, and I realize that, but just because we have the right to, that doesn’t give us license to buy a gun or a whole armory and go shoot people. Mr. Paddock should’ve known better than to do such things, and he didn’t, now he’s gone along with 59 others, and this pattern will continue unless we do something radical to change the way we own guns.

Suppose we also keep guns out of the hands of known child and domestic abusers. IF we do that, we’d at least be narrowing the citizenry down to worthy individuals who need or must own a gun for protection. Yes, we have the 2nd amendment right to bear arms, but we should add, it was designed for militia purposes after the Revolutionary War. We’re long past that, so we need a regulation or two to keep guns out of the hands of the bad guys. Studies show that regulated weaponry laws in other countries make the societies less violent. Less gun violence can occur with the aid of Congress, and the victims and survivors of such might agree with me, but when is a good opportunity for Congress to talk about it? The answer is whenever things cool down, but the time is now to act so that the many victims and survivors of gun violence will never be forgotten.

Beth

Author: denverqueen

My name is Beth. I'm blind from birth and enjoy the blogging atmosphere. I am a creative person, a musician, a writer, etc. This is me. Take it or leave it.

Leave a Reply

